The Food Reality Blog

Trust in the Power of Nature

Converting Lawns to Gardens: Nature’s Harvest Permaculture Urban Farm

Perma-culture is a fancy way of saying , “reclaim your money and put it (and your time) to use making food to sustain your life”. In other words…. Here is the door to getting yourself out of the income-debt merry-go-round.

My adventure into permanent agriculture has transformed over the years.  What it has become is a love of creating a sustainable and medicinal Food Forest.  It’s a good thing to check into…. If just to read about.  Perma culture is just where I started, and it’s a great start to developing a good relationship nature.

Image result for food forestAnd just like any real relationship, it’s best to get to know everything you can before committing yourself.

My journey began about 12 years ago when I started reading about plants, gardening, perma-culture. I liked what I read, and so I read, .. and read.

Then, about 6 years ago I emptied my 5 bedroom house and took off to Oregon to live on some sustainable farms and off-grid for two years, and found out I REALLY loved that!

When I finally came home again, 3 years ago, I decided to start my own food forest by introducing 5 new plants each spring into my garden, front yard, and just about anyplace I have grass.  My goal is to get to know each plant intimately…. (Working tinctures out, storing, processing techniques), and to slowly trade my grass for plants. I’m a nature girl … through and through.

Check out this article… I love what they have to say, I hope you love it too!

The Druid's Garden

Design of Nature's Harvest Permaculture Farm Design of Nature’s Harvest Permaculture Farm – Beautiful, biointensive, productive.

Over the years, I’ve done quite a bit of coverage about lawn issues, as I really do believe that the lawn can be one of the primary sites of transformation and change for ordinary Americans and others in the Western industrialized world. Not only can the lawn be transformed from a consumptive space to a productive one for growing vegetables, herbs, and flowers to benefit humans and other life, but it can be a site of personal reconnection and healing with our landscape.

This is because the lawn is the single piece of nature that the bulk of people, living outside of big cities, encounter on a daily or weekly basis. If we can transform the lawn, we can transform ourselves.

This is why I am so excited about this post–through the example of Nature’s Harvest Urban Permaculture Farm…

View original post 1,738 more words

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
C Katt Krespach, NTP

C Katt Krespach, NTP

C Katt Krespach, NTP is a nutritional therapist and long time activist with a passion for healing arts and social entrepreneurship, …working in both areas for over a quarter of a century. Her site TheFoodReality.com has a worldwide following. SpritualEntrepreneur.global is her newest project and coaches brick-and-morter business owners into global social entrepreneurship. She is an author, public speaker, and entrepreneur. You can get Katt’s free edible flowers e-book here and also watch a short documentary on how she overcame neuropathy, significant weight gain, and more with easy, natural and healing mindsets. Follow Katt on Facebook, Wordpress, Twitter, and Instagram.

Personal Links

Verified Services

View Full Profile →

